About the school
The British School in Colombo is in Sri Lanka. Visit the school’s website for admissions details.
- Country / region
- Sri Lanka
- City
- Not yet found
- Age range
- 2–18 years
- School type
- Day
- Teaching languages
- English
- Gender intake
- Co-educational
- Accreditations
- Not yet found
- Address
- Not yet found
Exam results
Results are shown by exam year and period. Missing means no figure found.
| Year / period | Qualification & metric | Result |
|---|---|---|
| 2026 annual | Cambridge A Level A*–A exam entries Students: Not available | 33% |
| 2026 annual | A Level A*–A exam entries Students: Not available | 33% |
| 2026 annual | A Level A*–A exam entries Students: Not available | 33% |
| 2026 annual | Cambridge IGCSE A*–A exam entries Students: Not available | 57% |
| 2026 annual | IGCSE A*–A exam entries Students: Not available | 57% |
| 2026 annual | IGCSE A*–A exam entries Students: Not available | 57% |
| 2025 annual | Cambridge A Level A*–A exam entries Students: Not available | 55% |
| 2025 annual | A Level A*–A exam entries Students: Not available | 55% |
| 2025 annual | A Level A*–A exam entries Students: Not available | 55% |
| 2025 annual | Cambridge IGCSE A*–A exam entries Students: Not available | 51% |
| 2025 annual | IGCSE A*–A exam entries Students: Not available | 51% |
| 2025 annual | IGCSE A*–A exam entries Students: Not available | 51% |
| 2024 annual | Cambridge A Level A*–A exam entries Students: Not available | 44% |
| 2024 annual | A Level A*–A exam entries Students: Not available | 44% |
| 2024 annual | A Level A*–A exam entries Students: Not available | 44% |
| 2024 annual | Cambridge IGCSE A*–A exam entries Students: Not available | 42% |
| 2024 annual | IGCSE A*–A exam entries Students: Not available | 42% |
| 2024 annual | IGCSE A*–A exam entries Students: Not available | 42% |
| 2023 annual | Cambridge A Level A*–A exam entries Students: Not available | 43% |
| 2023 annual | A Level A*–A exam entries Students: Not available | 43% |
| 2023 annual | A Level A*–A exam entries Students: Not available | 43% |
| 2023 annual | IGCSE IGCSE pass rate Students: Not available | 98% |
| 2023 annual | Cambridge IGCSE A*–A exam entries Students: Not available | 57% |
| 2023 annual | IGCSE A*–A exam entries Students: Not available | 57% |
| 2023 annual | IGCSE A*–A exam entries Students: Not available | 57% |
| 2018 annual | A Level A*–A exam entries Students: Not available | 59% |
More school details
Details from school pages and other sources.
- Age range
- 2 - 18
- Founded
- 1994
- Nationalities
- 53
- Phone
- +94117603400
- Students
- 1,400
Tuition & admissions.
No fees found yet. Ask the school for current tuition and extra charges.
AdmissionsAFTER SCHOOL
University results
See the school’s reports on university offers and attendance. An offer does not mean a student enrolled.
Other reported universities
1 universitiesThe report does not say whether these are offers or actual attendance.
No attendance report found for this period.
Lists may be incomplete. Compare rates only when they cover the same student group and measure.
Last check: Sep 18, 2026
- britishschool.lk/about-us/academic-success
- School identity:
- curricula
- Mentioned programmes: Cambridge A Level
- A*–A exam entries · 2026 · 33%
- Cambridge A Level results table: 2026, A*–A 33%.
- annual · Sep 19, 2026 · Source checked.
- A*–A exam entries · 2026 · 33%
- A Level Results results table, 2026: A*-A 33%. Source: www.britishschool.lk.
- annual · Sep 19, 2026 · Reported · unverified.
- A*–A exam entries · 2026 · 57%
- Cambridge IGCSE results table: 2026, A*–A 57%.
- annual · Sep 19, 2026 · Source checked.
- A*–A exam entries · 2026 · 57%
- IGCSE Results results table, 2026: A*-A 57%. Source: www.britishschool.lk.
- annual · Sep 19, 2026 · Reported · unverified.
- A*–A exam entries · 2025 · 55%
- Cambridge A Level results table: 2025, A*–A 55%.
- annual · Sep 19, 2026 · Source checked.
- A*–A exam entries · 2025 · 55%
- A Level Results results table, 2025: A*-A 55%. Source: www.britishschool.lk.
- annual · Sep 19, 2026 · Reported · unverified.
- A*–A exam entries · 2025 · 51%
- Cambridge IGCSE results table: 2025, A*–A 51%.
- annual · Sep 19, 2026 · Source checked.
- A*–A exam entries · 2025 · 51%
- IGCSE Results results table, 2025: A*-A 51%. Source: www.britishschool.lk.
- annual · Sep 19, 2026 · Reported · unverified.
- A*–A exam entries · 2024 · 44%
- Cambridge A Level results table: 2024, A*–A 44%.
- annual · Sep 19, 2026 · Source checked.
- A*–A exam entries · 2024 · 44%
- A Level Results results table, 2024: A*-A 44%. Source: www.britishschool.lk.
- annual · Sep 19, 2026 · Reported · unverified.
- A*–A exam entries · 2024 · 42%
- Cambridge IGCSE results table: 2024, A*–A 42%.
- annual · Sep 19, 2026 · Source checked.
- A*–A exam entries · 2024 · 42%
- IGCSE Results results table, 2024: A*-A 42%. Source: www.britishschool.lk.
- annual · Sep 19, 2026 · Reported · unverified.
- A*–A exam entries · 2023 · 43%
- Cambridge A Level results table: 2023, A*–A 43%.
- annual · Sep 19, 2026 · Source checked.
- A*–A exam entries · 2023 · 43%
- A Level Results results table, 2023: A*-A 43%. Source: www.britishschool.lk.
- annual · Sep 19, 2026 · Reported · unverified.
- A*–A exam entries · 2023 · 57%
- Cambridge IGCSE results table: 2023, A*–A 57%.
- annual · Sep 19, 2026 · Source checked.
- A*–A exam entries · 2023 · 57%
- IGCSE Results results table, 2023: A*-A 57%. Source: www.britishschool.lk.
- annual · Sep 19, 2026 · Reported · unverified.
- join.doris.school/schools/sri-lanka/the-british-school-in-colombo
- ageRange
- Ages 2 - 18 years
- languages
- School in Colombo? English is the language of instruction throughout The British School in Colombo. The sch
- nationalities
- 53 nationalities
- students
- around 1,400 students aged
- Harvard University · Year not stated
- Harvard University is named in this source's university outcomes section (Year not stated). The source does not clearly distinguish offers from attendance.
- Harvard University · 2025–2026
- Harvard University is named in this source's university outcomes section (2025–2026). The source does not clearly distinguish offers from attendance.
- visit.doris.school/schools/sri-lanka/the-british-school-in-colombo
- boarding
- day school
- gender
- o is a long-established, co-educational day school offering a British curriculum from ear
- Harvard University · Year not stated
- Harvard University is named in this source's university outcomes section (Year not stated). The source does not clearly distinguish offers from attendance.
- Harvard University · 2025–2026
- Harvard University is named in this source's university outcomes section (2025–2026). The source does not clearly distinguish offers from attendance.
- fobisia.org/fs/pages/694
- founded
- Founded in 1994
- github.com/mledoze/countries/blob/master/countries.json
- mapLocation
- Approximate country centre for Sri Lanka; this is not a campus coordinate.
- schoolandcollegelistings.com/LK/Colombo/663773070357671/The-British-School-in-Colombo
- phone
- Telephone +94117603400
- searchassociates.com/leadership-vacancies/deputy-principal-head-of-junior-school-the-british-school-in-colombo-sri-lanka-2017/
- The British School in Colombo Entrance
- dailymirror.lk/news-features/The-British-School-in-Colombo-becomes-first-BSO-accredited-school-in-Sri-Lanka/131-260013
- The British School in Colombo Building
- fobisia.org/our-members/member-school/bsc
- The British School in Colombo logo
- tes.com/jobs/vacancy/head-of-english-at-the-british-school-in-colombo-sri-lanka-sri-lanka-1955916
- IGCSE pass rate · 2023 · 98%
- ecuring 5 or more strong passes.- Our A Level students boasted a 98% pass rate, with 43% attaining A-A grades.
- annual · Sep 18, 2026 · Reported · unverified.
- d3giikteahxfyn.cloudfront.net/0A74770001/1b988e8e-38ed-4f53-9977-36cfcab1522b
- A*–A exam entries · 2018 · 59%
- 59% A Level 2018 A*- A
- annual · Sep 18, 2026 · Reported · unverified.
- britishschool.lk/senior/sixth-form/university-destinations
- Curtin University · Year not stated
- Curtin University is named in this source's university outcomes section (Year not stated). The section reports destinations or matriculation.
- Monash University · Year not stated
- Monash University is named in this source's university outcomes section (Year not stated). The section reports destinations or matriculation.
- Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology · Year not stated
- Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology is named in this source's university outcomes section (Year not stated). The section reports destinations or matriculation.
- University of Melbourne · Year not stated
- University of Melbourne is named in this source's university outcomes section (Year not stated). The section reports destinations or matriculation.
- University of New South Wales · Year not stated
- University of New South Wales is named in this source's university outcomes section (Year not stated). The section reports destinations or matriculation.
- University of Sydney · Year not stated
- University of Sydney is named in this source's university outcomes section (Year not stated). The section reports destinations or matriculation.
- University of British Columbia · Year not stated
- University of British Columbia is named in this source's university outcomes section (Year not stated). The section reports destinations or matriculation.
- McGill University · Year not stated
- McGill University is named in this source's university outcomes section (Year not stated). The section reports destinations or matriculation.
- University of Ottawa · Year not stated
- University of Ottawa is named in this source's university outcomes section (Year not stated). The section reports destinations or matriculation.
- University of Toronto · Year not stated
- University of Toronto is named in this source's university outcomes section (Year not stated). The section reports destinations or matriculation.
- University of Kerala · Year not stated
- University of Kerala is named in this source's university outcomes section (Year not stated). The section reports destinations or matriculation.
- Seoul National University · Year not stated
- Seoul National University is named in this source's university outcomes section (Year not stated). The section reports destinations or matriculation.
- Pusan National University · Year not stated
- Pusan National University is named in this source's university outcomes section (Year not stated). The section reports destinations or matriculation.
- National University of Singapore · Year not stated
- National University of Singapore is named in this source's university outcomes section (Year not stated). The section reports destinations or matriculation.
- University of Oxford · Year not stated
- University of Oxford is named in this source's university outcomes section (Year not stated). The section reports destinations or matriculation.
- University of Cambridge · Year not stated
- University of Cambridge is named in this source's university outcomes section (Year not stated). The section reports destinations or matriculation.
- Keele University · Year not stated
- Keele University is named in this source's university outcomes section (Year not stated). The section reports destinations or matriculation.
- University of Bristol · Year not stated
- University of Bristol is named in this source's university outcomes section (Year not stated). The section reports destinations or matriculation.
- University of Durham · Year not stated
- University of Durham is named in this source's university outcomes section (Year not stated). The section reports destinations or matriculation.
- University of Edinburgh · Year not stated
- University of Edinburgh is named in this source's university outcomes section (Year not stated). The section reports destinations or matriculation.
- University of Leeds · Year not stated
- University of Leeds is named in this source's university outcomes section (Year not stated). The section reports destinations or matriculation.
- University of Liverpool · Year not stated
- University of Liverpool is named in this source's university outcomes section (Year not stated). The section reports destinations or matriculation.
- University of Manchester · Year not stated
- University of Manchester is named in this source's university outcomes section (Year not stated). The section reports destinations or matriculation.
- University of Wales · Year not stated
- University of Wales is named in this source's university outcomes section (Year not stated). The section reports destinations or matriculation.
- Bennington College · Year not stated
- Bennington College is named in this source's university outcomes section (Year not stated). The section reports destinations or matriculation.
- Brown University · Year not stated
- Brown University is named in this source's university outcomes section (Year not stated). The section reports destinations or matriculation.
- Clark University · Year not stated
- Clark University is named in this source's university outcomes section (Year not stated). The section reports destinations or matriculation.
- Massachusetts Institute of Technology · Year not stated
- Massachusetts Institute of Technology is named in this source's university outcomes section (Year not stated). The section reports destinations or matriculation.
- Michigan State University · Year not stated
- Michigan State University is named in this source's university outcomes section (Year not stated). The section reports destinations or matriculation.
- Mount Holyoke College · Year not stated
- Mount Holyoke College is named in this source's university outcomes section (Year not stated). The section reports destinations or matriculation.
- Northeastern University · Year not stated
- Northeastern University is named in this source's university outcomes section (Year not stated). The section reports destinations or matriculation.
- Stanford University · Year not stated
- Stanford University is named in this source's university outcomes section (Year not stated). The section reports destinations or matriculation.
- Pennsylvania State University · Year not stated
- Pennsylvania State University is named in this source's university outcomes section (Year not stated). The section reports destinations or matriculation.
- Manipal University · Year not stated
- Manipal University is named in this source's university outcomes section (Year not stated). The section reports destinations or matriculation.
- City University · Year not stated
- City University is named in this source's university outcomes section (Year not stated). The section reports destinations or matriculation.
- Australian National University · Year not stated
- Australian National University is named in this source's university outcomes section (Year not stated). The section reports destinations or matriculation.
- britishschool.lk/senior/sixth-form/ucas
- Harvard University · Year not stated
- Harvard University is named in this source's university outcomes section (Year not stated). The source does not clearly distinguish offers from attendance.
SCHOOL LIFE
Is this the right fit?
Visit the school and ask about teaching, student support and daily life.
Explore nearby schools- What we compare
- Results for the same exam and period.
- Beyond exam results
- Your child’s wellbeing, learning and friendships.