About the school
Western International School of Shanghai is in China. Visit the school’s website for admissions details.
- Country / region
- China
- City
- Shanghai
- Age range
- 6–12 years
- School type
- Day
- Teaching languages
- English
- Gender intake
- Co-educational
- Accreditations
- WASC
- Address
- 555 Lian Min Road, Xujing Town, Qing Pu District, Shanghai, P.R. China 201702
Exam results
Results are shown by exam year and period. Missing means no figure found.
IB average · out of 45
| Year / period | Qualification & metric | Result |
|---|---|---|
| 2026 annual | IB Diploma Average score Students: Not available | 34 / 45 |
| 2025 june | IB Diploma Average score Students: Not available | 34 / 45 |
| 2025 june | IB Diploma Average score Students: Not available | 34 / 45 |
| 2024 annual | IB Diploma Average score Students: Not available | 14 / 45 |
| 2024 may | IB Diploma Pass rate Students: Not available | 100% |
| 2024 annual | IB Diploma Pass rate Students: Not available | 100% |
| 2023 annual | IB Diploma Pass rate Students: Not available | 100% |
| 2023 annual | IB Diploma Pass rate Students: Not available | 100% |
| 2022 annual | IB Diploma Average score Students: Not available | 34 / 45 |
| 2022 annual | IB Diploma Average score Students: Not available | 34 / 45 |
| 2022 annual | IB Diploma Average score Students: Not available | 34 / 45 |
| 2022 annual | IB Diploma Average score Students: Not available | 34 / 45 |
| 2022 annual | IB Diploma Pass rate Students: Not available | 100% |
| 2022 annual | IB Diploma Pass rate Students: Not available | 100% |
| 2022 annual | IB Diploma Pass rate Students: Not available | 100% |
| 2006 annual | IB Diploma Average score Students: Not available | 34 / 45 |
| 2006 annual | IB Diploma Pass rate Students: Not available | 100% |
More school details
Details from school pages and other sources.
- Age range
- 2.5 - 5
- [email protected]
- Fee details
- TUITION FEES261,820 RMB - for Secondary DP/CP per year (Early Bird Tuition 5% Discount)267,332 RMB - for Secondary DP/CP per year (Annual Tuition 3% Discount)137,800 RMB - for Second
- Founded
- 2006
- Grade levels
- Pre-Nursery - G12
- Nationalities
- 50
- Highest student count
- 411
- Phone
- 86-21-6976 6388
- Students
- 700
Tuition & admissions.
No fees found yet. Ask the school for current tuition and extra charges.
AdmissionsAFTER SCHOOL
University results
See the school’s reports on university offers and attendance. An offer does not mean a student enrolled.
Other reported universities
1 universitiesThe report does not say whether these are offers or actual attendance.
No attendance report found for this period.
Lists may be incomplete. Compare rates only when they cover the same student group and measure.
Last check: Sep 18, 2026
- earcos.org/member_schools.php
- School identity:
- accreditations
- Accreditation: WASC
- address
- 555 Lian Min Road, Xujing Town, Qing Pu District, Shanghai, P.R. China 201702
- city
- 555 Lian Min Road, Xujing Town, Qing Pu District, Shanghai, P.R. China 201702
- directoryCurricula
- Curriculum Program: IBDP,MYP,PYP
- gradeLevels
- Grade Level: Pre-Nursery - G12
- peakEnrollment
- Peak Enrollment: 411
- phone
- Phone: 86-21-6976 6388
- wiss.cn
- ageMax
- Children aged 6 - 12
- ageMin
- Children aged 6 - 12
- ageRange
- Ages 2.5 - 5
- curricula
- Mentioned programmes: IB Diploma, IB PYP, IB MYP
- IB Diploma
- IB Diploma
- IB MYP
- Middle Years Programme
- IB PYP
- Primary Years Programme
- [email protected]
- founded
- Founded in 2006
- gender
- enriching, and balanced co-educational experience for students from all over the world.
- nationalities
- 50 nationalities
- Western International School of Shanghai logo
- schoozy.com/schools/western-international-school-of-shanghai-shanghai
- boarding
- Day School
- languages
- eded a world-class, English-medium IB school. Their founding philosophy drew deeply
- students
- over 700 students from
- Average score · 2024 · 14 / 45
- Actual amounts may vary.Scholarships & Financial Aid1WISS Merit Scholarship ProgrammeMerit-BasedEligibility: Open to students of all nationalities across all year levels who demonstrate exceptional academic achievement, leadership skills, and team spirit.Curriculum & AcademicsClass Sizes by GradeAll gradesAverage14Max20Student:Teacher7:1Languages of InstructionLanguages of InstructionEnglishCompulsory / OptionalChinese (Mandarin)FrenchSpanishGermanEnglishAccreditations & Memberships3 accreditationsCICISSchool AccreditationInternationalWAWASCSchool AccreditationInternationalIBIB World SchoolInternationalInternational Baccalaureate (IBO)Outcomes & ResultsExam ResultsIB Diploma2023Pass rate100
- annual · Sep 18, 2026 · Reported · unverified.
- Pass rate · 2024 · 100%
- ureate (IBO)Outcomes & ResultsExam ResultsIB Diploma2023Pass rate100 %Graduate Outcomes by Year2023Graduation rate100%University DestinationsUniversity of SouthamptonRussell GroupReputation & Rec
- may · Sep 18, 2026 · Reported · unverified.
- Pass rate · 2024 · 100%
- ureate (IBO)Outcomes & ResultsExam ResultsIB Diploma2023Pass rate100 %Graduate Outcomes by Year2023Graduation rate100%University DestinationsUniversity of SouthamptonRussell GroupReputation & Rec
- annual · Sep 18, 2026 · Reported · unverified.
- Pass rate · 2023 · 100%
- The Class of 2023 achieved a 100% IB Diploma pass rate, with all graduates proceeding to leading tertiary institutions.
- annual · Sep 18, 2026 · Reported · unverified.
- Pass rate · 2006 · 100%
- ing universities worldwide.At a Glance1IB Diploma track record — 100% pass rate in 2023, with all graduates gaining admission to leading tertiary institutions worldwide2Mainland China's first IB
- annual · Sep 18, 2026 · Reported · unverified.
- University of Southampton · 2024
- University of Southampton is named in this source's university outcomes section (2024). The source does not clearly distinguish offers from attendance.
- ibranking.com/western-international-school-of-shanghai
- feeInformation
- TUITION FEES261,820 RMB - for Secondary DP/CP per year (Early Bird Tuition 5% Discount)267,332 RMB - for Secondary DP/CP per year (Annual Tuition 3% Discount)137,800 RMB - for Second
- geonames.org/1796236/
- mapLocation
- Approximate city centre for Shanghai, China; this is not a campus coordinate.
- wiss.cn/wiss-welcome-to-admissions.html
- Image from Western International School of Shanghai
- linkedin.com/school/western-international-school-shanghai/
- Average score · 2026 · 34 / 45
- This year's cohort achieved: • 100% IB Diploma Programme pass rate • 100% IB Career-related Programme pass rate • Mean Diploma score of 34 points • 46% of students achieved 35 points or above • Highest score: 41 points Our students also demonstrated exceptional performance across English, Mathemat
- annual · Not checked yet · Reported · unverified.
- Average score · 2006 · 34 / 45
- This year's cohort achieved: • 100% IB Diploma Programme pass rate • 100% IB Career-related Programme pass rate • Mean Diploma score of 34 points • 46% of students achieved 35 points or above • Highest score: 41 points Our students also demonstrated exceptional performance across English, Mathemat
- annual · Not checked yet · Reported · unverified.
- ib-schools.com/schools/3735/western-international-school-of-shanghai
- Average score · 2025 · 34 / 45
- International School of Shanghai 555 Lian Min Road, Xujing Town, Shanghai, 210702, China Make an Enquiry School Information Boy / Girl Co-ed Day / Boarding Day Age Group 5 to 18 IB Curriculum IBDP IB Average Points 34.0 Latest Articles 9th July 2025 IB Celebrations on Results Day 2025 17th July 2024 July 2024 Newsletter 20th June 2024 Understanding A Levels: The Gateway to Hig
- june · Sep 18, 2026 · Reported · unverified.
- wiss.cn/news/2022/wiss-news-ib-results.html
- Average score · 2022 · 34 / 45
- Graduates from the class of 2022 have achieved an average score of 34, well above the world average, with an impressive mark of 45/45 amongst this year’s graduates.
- annual · Sep 18, 2026 · Reported · unverified.
- Average score · 2022 · 34 / 45
- Graduates from the class of 2022 have achieved an average score of 34.
- annual · Sep 18, 2026 · Reported · unverified.
- Pass rate · 2022 · 100%
- With a 100% IB Diploma Pass Rate, WISS remains a top choice for students to complete their IB studies.
- annual · Sep 18, 2026 · Reported · unverified.
- Fudan University · Year not stated
- Fudan University is named in this source's university outcomes section (Year not stated). The section reports offers or acceptances; attendance is not confirmed.
- linkedin.com/posts/western-international-school-shanghai_ibresults-ib-wissshanghai-activity-6954753756555001856-oivX
- Average score · 2022 · 34 / 45
- a students.Our graduates continue to make us proud as they maintain a 100% Pass Rate for the IB Diploma Programme and the IB Career-related Programme.Graduates from the class of 2022 have achieved an average score of 34, well above the world average, with an impressive mark of 44/45 amongst this year’s graduates.
- annual · Not checked yet · Reported · unverified.
- Pass rate · 2022 · 100%
- dents.Our graduates continue to make us proud as they maintain a 100% Pass Rate for the IB Diploma Programme and the IB Career-related Programme.Graduates from the class of 2022 have achieved an
- annual · Not checked yet · Reported · unverified.
- westerninternationalschoolofshanghai.wordpress.com/2026/02/03/exploring-university-pathways-and-student-opportunities-at-western-international-school-of-shanghai/
- Global University · 2026
- Global University is named in this source's university outcomes section (2026). The source does not clearly distinguish offers from attendance.
- world-schools.com/schools-news/celebrating-the-success-of-wiss-graduates-class-of-2024-receives-impressive-university-offers/
- California College of the Arts · 2024
- California College of the Arts is named in this source's university outcomes section (2024). The section reports offers or acceptances; attendance is not confirmed.
- Purdue University · 2024
- Purdue University is named in this source's university outcomes section (2024). The section reports offers or acceptances; attendance is not confirmed.
- University of Toronto · 2024
- University of Toronto is named in this source's university outcomes section (2024). The section reports offers or acceptances; attendance is not confirmed.
- University of Manchester · 2024
- University of Manchester is named in this source's university outcomes section (2024). The section reports offers or acceptances; attendance is not confirmed.
- University of Southampton · 2024
- University of Southampton is named in this source's university outcomes section (2024). The section reports offers or acceptances; attendance is not confirmed.
- University College London · 2024
- University College London is named in this source's university outcomes section (2024). The section reports offers or acceptances; attendance is not confirmed.
- University of Waterloo · 2024
- University of Waterloo is named in this source's university outcomes section (2024). The section reports offers or acceptances; attendance is not confirmed.
- wiss.cn/news/2022/university-level-courses-at-wiss-scad-university-visits-wiss.html
- Savannah College of Art and Design · Year not stated
- Savannah College of Art and Design is named in this source's university outcomes section (Year not stated). The section reports offers or acceptances; attendance is not confirmed.
- Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University · Year not stated
- Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University is named in this source's university outcomes section (Year not stated). The section reports offers or acceptances; attendance is not confirmed.
- Fudan University · Year not stated
- Fudan University is named in this source's university outcomes section (Year not stated). The section reports offers or acceptances; attendance is not confirmed.
SCHOOL LIFE
Is this the right fit?
Visit the school and ask about teaching, student support and daily life.
Explore nearby schools- What we compare
- Results for the same exam and period.
- Beyond exam results
- Your child’s wellbeing, learning and friendships.